Buddy, can you spare a tweet?

Seems that a ds106 student from University of Mary Washington named Briana created a new assignment that is generating some excitement. Create a comic asks you to:

Take a picture and experiment with the “Halftone Effect” in some photo editing software to create a comic book effect.

Having seen Alan’s example and clear description of the process, I thought that even I could do it.

As I don’t have a camera handy, I borrowed the upside down picture from yesterday’s Daily Create and turned it right side up in Pixlr.

I tweaked the hue and saturation to give it an even more old-time feel and then applied the half-tone filter.

The caption was done on a new layer with an elliptical selection filled with yellow and an opacity setting of 34%. Another layer of text was added with full opacity.

As for the question, “Buddy, can you spare a tweet?” It is a play on the depression era song, “Brother, can you spare a dime?” Somehow the comic image made me think of the thirties and I wanted a slightly softer twitter related phrase than I did in the recent YouTubes video.

This entry was posted in ds106Assignments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Buddy, can you spare a tweet?

  1. Pingback: Minccino Plushi Spubble | CIS 0835 – SP12

  2. akismet-434cd4ee778723b9ec27bb53045e5104 says:

    I think this is a very successful conceptualization of this assignment. When I first saw this I immediately thought of the silent film star Harold Lloyd. I imagine that is something he would say, or at least what the caption card would say. It’s fantastic to have such a dynamic narrative in one image!

    However, I felt that the speech bubble could have been more effective. Creating meaning and tone for a speech bubble is largely influenced by how it is shaped. As of now, the text seems somehow disconnected from the rest of image.

    Thank you for sharing this great assignment!

    • lockmantuj says:

      Thanks for the kind words and astute critique. Now that you mention, I do see Harold Lloyd. Also, I agree that the speech bubble doesn’t work with the over aesthetic of the piece. I suppose I was not thinking enough of the images as a whole when I was putting it together.

      But in looking again and thinking about your comment, I’m gonna rework it. I’ll repost when it’s sorted out. Again, thanks for pointing this out.

Leave a Reply

