Are you connected yet?

FROSTBURG Connection Machine CM-5

FROSTBURG Connection Machine CM-5 by brewbooks (Flickr - CC license)

Here’s an idea. I just realized that the UMW students are also reading and responding to Tim O’Reilly’s Web 2.0 article. Have you noticed any of the blog posts coming through the ds106 feed? I have, and I’m blown away by what I’m seeing.

I think that it would be pretty cool if in writing your blog response to the O’Reilly article, you make reference to something written by one or more of the UMW students (Section 1, Section 2). Leaving comments would also be a good idea when you check out their work.

Such cross pollination of ideas can only lead to good stuff, don’t you think?

Image: FROSTBURG Connection Machine CM-5 by brewbooks via Flickr (CC license)

This entry was posted in Course Details and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are you connected yet?

  1. Paul says:

    One of the first people I check out (because his name was Paul) and I find this: http://blog.themanthemyththepaul.us/
    He got hacked😦

  2. lockmantuj says:

    Yeah poor Paul but he’s not the only victim. I heard many of the new blogs were hacked. I wonder if any other of the Tokyo students are aware of this development.

    I think Jim Groove has been blogging about this.

    • Paul says:

      Saw his blog mentioning it, but I would’ve liked to hear what exactly happened. Server breach? WordPress flaw?

      • lockmantuj says:

        As far as I know, the intruders exploited a wordpress congfig file on the server hosting many student blogs from the two ds106 sections at University of Mary Washington. It caused a bit of havoc.

        You might want to check the recent video of Jim Groom’s class when he was joined by Kim Droom.

        I think most of the details are there, but as far as I know the case is not yet closed. Perhaps you could lend some of your sleuthing skills to helping solve this mystery and preventing that it not happen again.

Leave a Reply

