Pixlr Online Image Editor

I’ve think I used to have the Pixlr app on my iPhone but didn’t use it much and discarded it (there also appears to be an Android version). I didn’t even know that they had a web based editor. I’ve noticed several students mention using it on their ds106 assignments. Most recently Roundhouseslap used it to great effect and provided screen shots of the process for the ds106 Revamp Your WordPress Banner assignment.

I had to investigate and gave the Pixlr web image editor a spin. Below is what I came up with:

Created in Pixlr using a stock photo from Tack-O-Rama

Once again, there should be no illusion about my low level image editing skills. I hardly know what I’m doing, but I do have a good time trying to figure out how to use the different tools and features.

The lady in the car photo was found on Tack-O-Rama’s collection of stock photography. On the site is a statement that ownership of the images is unknown. There appears to be no clear usage license information available. Tack-O-Rama suggests that so long as they not be used for commercial purposes, all should be well.

After spending 20 minutes working on this image (I cropped the photo and erased everything but the woman in her car, boosted the saturation, added a gradient background layer and applied gaussian blur, and added the text), I am persuaded that Pixlr is a more than suitable web-based application for doing a great many ds106 assignments. For those who have been demoralized by the GIMP, this might be a useful tool to try.

This entry was posted in Software and Tools and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pixlr Online Image Editor

  1. billgx says:

    I use Pixlr quite often for simple edits. I find it’s interface very similar to Photoshop. Since I’ve used Photoshop for many years, I haven’t had much patience in trying to learn Gimp as it seems so foreign to me. Pixlr, however, is another story. I love it!

  2. Hi,
    Love the pic, looks like it wants to be an animated gif.
    I have been thinking a bit recently about the difference between desktop and web applications. Personally I come down on the side of desktop as I find that they fit in with my workflow a lot better than web apps.
    I do use online editors, picnik in particular, as I teach and sometimes am in rooms with no good photoediting software. pixlr is much improved since I last checked it out the express version looks good for young pupils. Thanks for blogging about it

Leave a Reply

